Why I Won’t Get a Colonoscopy | Scientific American Blog

Another in a series of articles questioning the widespread use of tests, and consequent risks to healthy individuals they may pose, this time with colonoscopies. Some interesting numbers on risks and overall mortality rates, that tend to debunk recent studies cited in the media.

He also quotes the article by Gilbert Welch (Overdiagnosis as a Flaw in Health Care – NYTimes.com) approvingly (I also liked it), ending with:

Now that’s a healer who adheres to the ancient precept: First, do no harm. The next time a doctor urges me to get unnecessary tests, I’m going to email him Welch’s essay.

Why I Won’t Get a Colonoscopy | Cross-Check, Scientific American Blog Network.

And a contrary view from White Coat Underground, Your doctor is there for you, even when you aren’t sick (although I am more in the less is more school of screening, his points on some long-term chronic diseases like diabetes strike me as valid).

2 thoughts on “Why I Won’t Get a Colonoscopy | Scientific American Blog

  1. This raises interesting questions about the tendency to over-test and over-treat, and the need to balance risks and benefits and such issues as family history of colon cancer, for example, which is a factor in my case. Without ruling out a very invasive procedure (not to mention the preparation), this article makes me rethink the need to have this done every five years, which is what my doctor recommends. Maybe I can go to 7.5, particularly if I continue watching what I eat, stay fit and watch the stress levels? Ah the balancing act again!

What do you think?

