Life, Interrupted: Am I a Cancer Survivor? – NYTimes.com

Suleika Jaouad’s reflections on being called a survivor, and her trying to figure out what it means. Quote:

Today, it’s been 92 days since my transplant. While my doctors say that my recovery from the transplant is going as well as can be, the threat of relapse is never far from my mind. In two weeks I will return to the hospital for the survivorship meeting. I’m still anxious about calling myself a “survivor,” but I’m unbelievably grateful to have survived my transplant. I’m still here. And that means I can continue to figure out what surviving means to me.

For those who missed it, my reflections on the various labels and terms we use to describe those of us living with cancer can be found here.

Life, Interrupted: Am I a Cancer Survivor? – NYTimes.com.

What do you think?

