5 questions every patient needs to ask

Suggested questions to have an informed discussion with your doctor. Reviewing these, my recollection that the hematologists went through these fairly thoroughly for my allo stem cell transplant (SCT), when I already had experience in thinking through my concerns, but less so during my initial Hyper CVAD and auto SCT, when the risks were lower. The questions are:

  1. What’s the likelihood it will help me?
  2. If it does help, how much will it help me?
  3. What is the likelihood it will harm me?
  4. If it harms me, how much will it harm me?
  5. What’s likely to happen if I don’t do it? (in my case, that was particularly clear and helped focus the mind).

5 questions every patient needs to ask.

What do you think?

