Week 38: Uneventful equals good

Another uneventful week, all good. A bit too wet for biking but some good walks. While I can and do drive, given a choice, will walk instead, and seem to be averaging about 2 hours a day.

I had the usual charming jack hammer MRI and will get the results at my next clinic visit May 14. Funny that even if, as noted earlier, I do not expect any alarming news, lying in the ‘tube’ for 45 minutes is a sober reminder, and does bring back some worries. Hopefully, I will have confirmation at my next clinic visit in just over a week that my condition remains stable or, even better, that there has been some improvement. We shall see.

I am also looking forward to sharing my Prezi and related slides with my haematologist, to get his feedback and see how else he wants to challenge me. My other think pieces are either done (‘What we call ourselves’, or cancer terminology, will be posted this week) or in good shape (‘Letting go and accepting’). And I now have an ISBN for my forthcoming book and a workplace to complete it around the time of my one year anniversary this August. Now I just have to do it!

I continue to read Among the Believers, and have just finished his section on Pakistan. Reading his book 30 years later, and seeing some of the same issues repeat themselves, when so many other parts of the world have shown real progress. One of his milder quotes:

The Islamic ideal was the theme of a 1951 book, Pakistan as an Islamic State, which he (Nusrat) had brought as a gift for me. It would help me to understand Pakistan, he said. And the book showed me that thirty years before, the Islamic ideal had been as vague, as much a statement of impracticable intent and muddled history (with interim worldly corruption), as it was now. The Islamic state, I read, was like a high-flying kite, invisible in the mist. ‘I cannot see it, but something is tugging.’

April was a high readership month, perhaps because my posting frequency increased a bit. Here are the 5 most popular posts from April:

  1. Life, Interrupted: A Young Cancer Patient Faces Infertility – NYTimes.com
  2. Lessons
  3. Is The United States’ High Spending For Cancer Care Really Worth It?
  4. HealthcareNo, a Universal Cancer Vaccine Was Not Just Developed – The Atlantic, and Life and death battle with OHIP | Toronto Sun
  5. Dualities

I will be travelling and largely disconnected from our electronic world next week – good quiet time – so will not be able to respond to comments or ‘contact me’. I have scheduled a number of articles for next week so we will see how that works. Back to my usual schedule the following week.

What do you think?

