Life, Interrupted: Finding My Cancer Style – NYTimes.com

The latest from Suleika Jaouad, this time on the new look imposed by cancer. Hair loss is harder on women than men, and likely even harder on young women like Suleika, even then it took me a while to get used to my new look (on the other hand, I didn’t have to shave, one of the few advantages). Quote:

I’m just figuring it out as I go. A month before my transplant this spring, I went to the barber for a buzz cut and left with “hair tattoos.” In a cavernous basement barbershop in downtown New York City that has a sign listing the dozens of languages spoken there, a stylist named Miguel buzzed my mohawk and grooved a spiral design in the one-inch layer that remained.

Today, I’m bald again. It’s been 57 days since my bone marrow transplant. I’m back to wearing a summer hat or a shawl on my head. I’m still a long way from the girl with long, wavy brown hair. Sometimes I dream of having my old hair back. But it’ll be a long time before that happens. For now, I’ve got a new hair tattoo in mind. This time, I think I’ll design it myself.

My hair, of course, came back but what they kindly call ‘angel hair’, much thinner than before, and harder to look after (more bad hair days, with the ironic result I have to keep it short!).

Life, Interrupted: Finding My Cancer Style – NYTimes.com.

What do you think?

