Can you handle being the first to know your own test results?

On balance, I favour direct access to test results, as part of being an informed and empowered patient. However, I know my interpretative limits – some things are easy to understand after the ‘crash course’ in lymphoma and stem cell transplants I have received over the past 3 years, others less so. And that is where I rely on my medical team’s experience and expertise.

Can you handle being the first to know your own test results?.

3 thoughts on “Can you handle being the first to know your own test results?

  1. Because I work in Health Care and have a good biological science background, I was usually able to figure out what the test results meant, and how they would be interpreted in the grander scheme of things. But I wouldn’t always recommend that for patients without that background, or at least knowledge of their disease – misinterpretation can just lead to more headaches and worries than necessary sometimes.

    • I agree. A bit of humility, and respect for the experts that help us, usually help us find the right balance. And the worry factor – God knows, we have enough to worry about already – is another reason for some caution. Andrew

What do you think?

