Life, Interrupted: Five Days of Chemo – NYTimes.com

The latest from Suleika Jaouad, who is in post-stem cell transplant chemo (the thought of being back in chemo would be unbearable to me). As always, she captures things all too accurately. Quote:

I wake up feeling as if I’ve been hit by a truck. My sore throat is worse, and now I have a runny nose and a cough. The delayed effects of chemo are setting in. As someone with a compromised immune system, I go through a priority checklist in my head whenever I notice any symptoms. Not all symptoms are an emergency, but none can be dismissed outright. A fever higher than 100.4 is an instant ticket to urgent care, so I’m checking my temperature regularly now.

Life, Interrupted: Five Days of Chemo – NYTimes.com.

What do you think?

