Doctors need to make room for disagreement with patients

healthcommunities.com

Good advice on how to approach discussions with doctors over treatment options and the like. Quote:

While our dad was in the hospital last winter, my brother shared with me his strategy for talking to the doctors we encountered – an approach honed over ten years of marriage to an internist and dozens of pediatrician visits for his two little boys. He asked smart questions that used medical terms to earn their respect, he told me. He was appropriately deferential, admitting his lack of clinical experience. If he disagreed, he gently offered empirical evidence to support his argument and then hoped that the doctor listened and didn’t get defensive.

Doctors need to make room for disagreement with patients.

2 thoughts on “Doctors need to make room for disagreement with patients

  1. I used to be recommended this website via my cousin.
    I’m now not sure whether this submit is written by way of him as nobody else recognize such specific approximately my difficulty. You are incredible! Thanks!

  2. Hey there! I could have sworn I’ve been to this site before but after checking through some of the post I realized it’s new
    to me. Anyhow, I’m definitely happy I found it and I’ll be bookmarking
    and checking back frequently!

What do you think?

