What Doesn’t Kill You Makes You More Creative – Forbes

While I prefer the more profound reflections of Christopher Hitchens than this chatty style, it reflects one person’s coming to terms with the need for change in lifestyle and priorities. Quote:

They say what doesn’t kill you makes you stronger. I suppose they are right. My oncologist expects me to be fine. I took this photo of myself waiting for him the other day because I was bored. After we talked, I got an IV antibody treatment that I’ll be getting for the next six months. While I was sitting there, the guy I call the “cancer shrink” came in and talked to me. I told him that my anxiety is like a black blob of a monster that lives in a room in my head. I wanted to know if I stopped feeding it, would it get bigger or would it go away? He reminded me that the monster is also my friend. It made me braver, and stronger, and because of it I can go figure out who else I am.

What Doesn’t Kill You Makes You More Creative – Forbes.

What do you think?

