A Cancer Patient’s Best Friend – NYTimes.com

Suleika Jaouad on the therapeutic value of pets, in this case a puppy. Understandable, the unconditional affection, and the required attention, provides a focus. Not quite as profound a focus as Frankl talks about in Man’s Search for Meaning, but focus and meaning that helps. Quote:

In the short time Oscar has been in my life, he’s had an effect on my relationships. Rather than staring at my bald head, passers-by stop to play with Oscar and to tell me how cute he is. The other tenants in my building now say hello to my dog before greeting me. And instead of discussing my symptoms and treatment plan for the week, my boyfriend and I have been spending more time focused on puppy playtime, going on long walks in the park and taking Oscar to his obedience classes. It’s nice not to be the center of attention for a change.

A Cancer Patient’s Best Friend – NYTimes.com.

2 thoughts on “A Cancer Patient’s Best Friend – NYTimes.com

  1. QUE PIENSO. NO, NO PIENSO. AMENAZADA DE UNA LESION MALIGNA EN QUE DIABLOS PUEDO PENSAR. OBVIAMENTE EN LOS DEMAS. EN LO QUE LO PADECEN, EN LO QUE LO SUFREN, EN LO QUE LO LLORAN, EN LOS QUE TIENEN MIEDO A MORIR. HAY OTRA VIDA. Y MIENTRAS LO QUIERAS TENDRAS FIESTA, CIELO Y JUBILEO. PREPARATE, TU COMO YO, AMENAZADO DE MUERTE……. ACOMPANEMOSNOS , ALIEMONOS. SEAMOS MAS HUMANOS, ALEJEMOS DE MEDICOS INVASIVOS. VEAMOS LAS FLORES Y COMAMOS MAS HELADOS. MANON KUBLER. DIAGNOSTICADA.

  2. This is so true. My Dad suffered from Alzheimer’s. The best decision we ever made was to buy him a pup. It was such an amazing transition! It was almost as if it gave my Dad a new lease on life. He loved the dog with every fiber in his body. He could not remember the dog’s name but Tiger slept with him and Dad carried him everywhere! They were inseparable until the end.

What do you think?

