Leading Bone Marrow Transplant Expert Recommends Significant Change to Current Practice

primeindiahealthcare.com

This is the first study I have seen comparing the results of stem cell transplant from peripheral blood collection (as in my case and the majority of transplants) and from bone marrow.

I recall one of my hematologist noting the main reasons for the shift to peripheral blood collection: ease and reduced period of low immunity. The downside, which he also noted, was an increase in the risk of chronic GvHD. For those of you under consideration for a transplant, worth while discussing the pros and cons of the two approaches and bringing this study to their attention.

Quote:

The study that compared the two sources of adult stem cells was the first randomized trial of its kind to compare the two sources of cells. It was led by former Hutchinson Center transplant physician Claudio Anasetti, M.D., who is now at the H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center in Tampa, Fla. It found no difference in two-year survival, faster engraftment and less graft failure, but a significant increase in chronic GVHD, when patients were transplanted with stem cells derived from peripheral blood.

“While this study should change practice, it will be interesting to see if it really does,” Appelbaum wrote. “The benefits of peripheral blood are seen early, under the watchful eyes of the transplant physician, while the deleterious effects occur late, often after the patient has left the transplant center.”

Leading Bone Marrow Transplant Expert Recommends Significant Change to Current Practice.

4 thoughts on “Leading Bone Marrow Transplant Expert Recommends Significant Change to Current Practice

    • Thanks. I must admit it is a mystery to me how some items get featured and others do not. I use Google+, StumbleUpon and Tumblr which may help. Best of luck.

  1. My coder is trying to persuade me to move to .net from PHP.
    I have always disliked the idea because of the expenses.
    But he’s tryiong none the less. I’ve been using Movable-type on several websites for about a year and am worried about switching
    to another platform. I have heard very good things about blogengine.
    net. Is there a way I can transfer all my wordpress content
    into it? Any help would be really appreciated!

What do you think?

