Apple has introduced me to the uncertainty of being doctored

An amusing piece, comparing medical and computer diagnostics, and when finding the problem is uncertain and problematic. Quote:

Looking back, I’d like to imagine that a different series of decisions could have led to a better outcome. Unfortunately, my imagination doesn’t get far. When it comes to caring for the sick – whether man or Mac –a good diagnostic system is priceless, but every test has a price. So where does that leave us?

Sometimes I think back to medical school orientation week and recall the sight of a hundred future doctors descending upon Boylston Street. That week, the long city blocks seemed to stretch straight into our future. Not everything appears so straightforward anymore, on Boylston Street or elsewhere. Medical school has introduced me to the uncertainty of being a doctor; Apple has introduced me to the uncertainty of being doctored. In the time it’s taken to write this, my laptop has kernel panicked twice.

Apple has introduced me to the uncertainty of being doctored.

What do you think?

