To save our careers, (nay, our souls!) we need to step away from our keyboards – The Globe and Mail

A funny piece, by Elizabeth Renzetti of the Globe on our addition to our keyboards and and smart phones, in the context of the Petraeus story. Quite funny, but captures a serious point about some of the risks of cyberspace.

I know you don’t have problems with pills or booze. Your problems are much worse, because you’re a new kind of addict. You can’t step away from the goddamn computer! I’m sorry for the rough language, but this is a battle for your very souls. I’ve prised men’s cold, dead fingers off keyboards after they’ve told me, “One more e-mail, I can handle it,” or “If I can just retweet this, I’ll stop, I promise.”

Well, you can’t handle it, and you won’t stop. Just look at them fancy folks in Washington – they couldn’t stop, even if they knew it would ruin ’em. The man who’s running the war in Afghanistan, he couldn’t stop. He sent that pretty lady in Florida a whole bunch of e-mails. What in God’s name could they have been talking about? IEDs in Kandahar? The best J.C. Penney in Tampa? I noticed that USA Today called that lady, Jill Kelley, a “party ambassador.” I wish my guidance counsellor had told me about that career path. I wouldn’t be sitting here with you folks, slapping your fingers every time you reach for the send key.

To save our careers, (nay, our souls!) we need to step away from our keyboards – The Globe and Mail.

One thought on “To save our careers, (nay, our souls!) we need to step away from our keyboards – The Globe and Mail

What do you think?

