I do not require perfect health to be happy

co.pinellas.fl.us

co.pinellas.fl.us

Good reflections on what ‘cure’ means from both the patient and medical perspective, and the realization that good health is relative, not absolute, for people living with cancer (and other chronic conditions). Quote:

I’ve learned that compromise is not same as giving in or giving up. Though the periods between treatments have not signified a cure, they’ve given me time to continue growing and changing, and I’ve made the most of it.

I’ve learned that fear, and my fright about feeling fear, were preventing me from making peace with the facts of my “new” life. I remember waking up one morning and feeling absolute terror, because the lump in my abdomen was making it more difficult for me to take a deep breath. All the worst thoughts came crowding in–and yet, only a short while later, the fear had passed and I was making breakfast. A few such experiences have taught me that even terror will pass, and that the thoughts it inspires are no more “true” than my other thoughts; they only seem that way.

via I do not require perfect health to be happy.

via I do not require perfect health to be happy.

What do you think?

