The telephone is obsolete: How my patients contact me today

alertpresence.com

alertpresence.com

A good example of a hyper-connected doctor who is using both traditional communications (snail mail, telephone) and social media and texting. Not sure how she manages it all as part of her regular work day but the range of ways her patients can use is impressive. Quote:

The only caveat with all these different modes of communication is that I do have to make an effort to keep tabs on them all. That means keeping an email window up on the computer during the day, and my cell phone in my pocket. Neither is a big deal. I’ve arranged my accounts so that all my different email addresses show up in one place, and Facebook and Twitter are set to email me when I have a new message.

Now that I think about it, isn’t this kind of extended availability one of the earmarks of the so-called Patient Centered Medical Home? Why yes, of course it is. And I’m already doing it; have been for years now. Wow. Isn’t that something. Someone should tell me again why/how I need to “transform” my practice into this lovely new model of open access and easy communication between patients and physicians.

The telephone is obsolete: How my patients contact me today.

One thought on “The telephone is obsolete: How my patients contact me today

  1. Pingback: The telephone is obsolete: How my patients contact me today | nowportal.com

What do you think?

