Dear patients: Thank you for teaching me

dailynews.mcmaster.ca

dailynews.mcmaster.ca

Nice piece by an intern on learning from patients that captures all too much of the patient experience. Quote:

Thank you for your attempts at pushing my buttons, whether it be through questioning my technical knowledge, academic status, or medical specialty. Thank you for sneering at me.

Thank you for calling me “doctor” when I don’t feel like one at all. Thank you for saying “thank you” when you’re getting better—in spite of me, not because of me. Thank you for poking fun at me for the express purpose of making me laugh. Thank you for giving me a hug before you leave the hospital. Thank you for smiling at me.

Medical school and residency training involves a lot of reading, tests, and studying. But the truth is, you are our best and most effective teachers. And for that, I thank you.

Dear patients: Thank you for teaching me.

What do you think?

